ITIL® Training

QA offer a wide range of in-person and online ITIL® courses and training across the current framework, including ITIL®4 foundation, specialist and strategist certifications.

Book online today. If you need help choosing the right course or would like to discuss business discounts, get in touch or call us on 01753 898 765.

We also offer ITIL®​ 4​ courses in a range of durations, from one day to multiple days, half-days and 12-months' online access. 

Why Choose QA for ITIL® Training?

IT Service Management Practice Icon


say our ITIL® training will improve job performance

IT Service Management Practice Icon


pass rate for our ITIL® training courses

IT Service Management Practice Icon


quality rating for our ITIL® trainers' knowledge

What is ITIL® 4 Certification?

ITIL® is a professionally recognised certification scheme and provides comprehensive, practical and proven guidance for establishing a service management system, providing a common glossary of terms for businesses using IT enabled services.

ITIL® v4 provides a clear capability model and aligns to your business strategy and customer needs. It expands previous versions by providing a practical and flexible basis to support your organisation on your journey to the new world of Digital Transformation.

It provides an end-to-end IT/digital operating model for the delivery and operation of tech-enabled products and services - and enables IT teams to continue to play a crucial role in wider business strategy.

ITIL® 4 Certifications

Hide detail

Why choose ITIL 4?

QA's Head of Service Management Product Development, Martin Waters, highlights why ITIL 4 is relevant in today's service driven world of digital transformation.

ITIL® Master

ITIL® 4 provides an emphasis on the business and technology world, how it works today, and how it will work in the future with agile, DevOps and digital transformation. Complete all three certifications below to achieve the ITIL® Master certification.

Required Star = Required
Certification = Certification
ITIL® Practice Manager (PM) Pass the Foundation, Create Deliver & Support and one of the Practice Manager modules to achieve the ITIL® Practice Manager certification.
ITIL® Managing Professional (MP) Pass the Foundation and all 4 Managing Professional modules to achieve the ITIL® Managing Professional certification.
ITIL® Strategic Leader (SL) Pass the Foundation and both the Strategic Leader modules to achieve the ITIL® Strategic Leader certification.

ITIL® 4 Extension Modules

The ITIL®4 Extension Modules are designed to equip individuals with the necessary skills to confront future challenges effectively. They offer individuals and organisations a range of benefits, from specialised knowledge and career development to improved operations and strategic implementation of specific IT practices.

These modules include:
ITIL®4 Specialist: Sustainability in Digital & IT
ITIL®4 Specialist: Acquiring & Managing Cloud Services
ITIL®4 Specialist: Business Relationship Management
ITIL®4 Specialist: IT Asset Management

Developed as an extension to the primary ITIL®4 framework, these modules offer organisations and professionals valuable guidance in navigating and leveraging emerging technologies and themes that impact their operations. Whether you are on the Mastery path to ITIL®4 Practice Manager, ITIL®4 Managing Professional or ITIL®4 Strategic Leader, these extension modules will play a pivotal role in enriching your journey.

Browse our courses

Contact us for more information

Call us on 01753 898 765 or fill in the form below:

More about ITIL® 4

What is ITIL®?

In today’s world, businesses are under ever-increasing pressure to transform at a rapid and constant pace. To aid organisations in their mission to manage change, frameworks such as ITIL are key to continuing to deliver value to end-clients.

ITIL stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library. It is the most widely accepted approach to IT service management – or ITSM. ITSM allows an organisation to maximise business value from information technology. In the modern digital space, IT services are now key to delivering value for companies.

ITIL itself pulls together principles and professional practices from numerous different management approaches. These include concepts such as lean manufacturing, risk management and change management.

It is a best practice framework which guides on how IT Service Management can be delivered. It is key to assisting companies in aligning their IT services with customer and business needs.

Who is ITIL® 4 for?

ITIL® 4 is for anyone working in an IT or service environment looking to gain an introduction to service management using the ITIL methodology. ITIL® 4 is the most recent iteration of ITIL (there was previously ITIL® 3, etc). It expands on previous versions by providing a practical and flexible basis to support your organisation’s journey in Digital Transformation – enabling IT teams to continue to play a crucial role in wider business strategy.

What are the different ITIL® 4 certifications?

The first certification you must achieve is the ITIL® 4 Foundation certification.

If you want to become a Managing Professional, you must pass the Foundation and all four of the Managing Professional modules.

If you want to become a Strategic Leader, you must pass the Foundation and both the Strategist and the Leader modules.

The Extension modules are two standalone courses which tackle green IT and cloud adoption.

There is a comprehensive diagram of the learning paths and levels on the QA website here.

What are the pre-requisites for a Foundation exam?

ITIL® 4 is aimed towards anyone involved in provision, support, or delivery of IT-enabled services in a modern digital organisation.

There are no specific prerequisites for a Foundation level! This course is aimed at all levels of IT professionals, customers, and users involved in the provision or receipt of IT services in any organisation.


What are the pre-requisites for a Managing Professional or Strategic Leader exam?

Before sitting a Managing Professional or Strategic Leader exam, you must first pass Foundation.

How does ITIL® work?

Each ITIL® 4 module is accompanied by a core guide and a globally recognised professional certification, from which millions of professionals worldwide have benefitted. The course consists of studying from the guide, then taking an exam.

To gain your ITIL certification, you can attend a training course with an accredited training organisation such as QA, which will include the exam as part of the course.

To gain your certification, you’ll need to pass the Foundation courses. Then, you can go on to a Managing Professional qualification, or a Strategic Leader qualification.

Does an ITIL® certification expire?

All certification after Jan 1st 2023 will have a validity period of three years, meaning you will need to take a re-certification course if you want to continue holding an ITIL certification. Learn more on the PeopleCert website.